Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

(Finished December 22, 2011)

Easily the second-funniest book I read in 2011. (Behind Bossypants of course — a fact which Mindy states in the book that she is more than happy to admit.)

I saw a lot of myself in Mindy’s book. Awkward kid, trying to fit in. Wants a career to love. Wants to eventually find love but not worth being in relationships that suck. Wants to be skinny but finding that’s just not possible (but still trying sporadically anyway). Yeah, I like to think we’d be tight.

Obviously there are things that we don’t have in common: she’s hilarious, clever, daring, Indian…I am none of those things.

One of my fave parts of Mindy’s book is when she talks about husbands and how she does want one someday. But from her time in Hollywood, she’s seen how bad marriages can get. “You gotta be friends, y’all,” she’d say. She gave the example of a great marriage: Amy Poehler and Will Arnett. I hope I’m remembering this anecdote correctly, but I think she was at a party with the two of them. Amy came up to the group Mindy was with and was like, “Hey have you seen Arnett?” Adorable. They love each other. They’re friends. They hang out. There’s respect there, too, obviously. I so agree that the best person to marry would be someone like that. Here’s hoping! (For myself and for Mindy!)

I would recommend this book to any teen or twenty-something. Funny, clever, full of advice, full of jokes. It has a little something for everyone. And you’ll feel a little better about people in Hollywood being real people.

Leave a comment

Filed under chick lit, hilarious, memoir

Leave a Reply

